Maple Peanut Sesame Chicken

30 Aug

20130830-161359.jpg

I found this on Kate Scarlata’s blog I think she might have tweeted it, anyway, it caught my eye because: Maple, peanut, sesame – all delicious! It’s also not something I would normally cook, so that proves some good comes out of FODMAP – the chance to experiment and cook new things!

I came very (very) close to adding some chilli, but as I am often a bit* heavy handed with the chilli I managed to stop myself. Just. I do think a bit of fresh chilli would add a little something, so wil give it a go on my next attempt and let you know how it turns out!

Ingredients

20130816-123028.jpg

  • 1 lb/500g chicken thighs, boneless, skinned, chopped (I always use chicken thighs as they have more flavour, but of course use whatever you have to hand or prefer)
  • 2 tbsp wholenut/natural peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 tbsp pure maple syrup

Instructions

  • In medium casserole dish, add the peanut butter, sesame oil, soy sauce, sesame seeds, ginger and maple syrup whisking to blend20130816-123002.jpg
  • Chop chicken, if not already chopped
  • Add chicken and mix to coat with mixture.
  • Cover and refrigerate for as long as you have! I marinated overnight but I would say try and marinate it for at least 30mins.
  • Keep chicken in marinade and place uncovered in preheated oven.

20130816-123043.jpg

  • Bake at 180 for 30 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.

Serving Suggestions

With rice, green veg, or our favourite sweet potato mash! I know.. not how it probably *should* be served, but try it I dare you!

*very

20130816-123117.jpg

 

**Update 08/09/13 I tried this with half a chilli and it worked really well – the spice offset the sweetness really well see Spicy Maple, Peanut, Sesame Chicken**

One Response to “Maple Peanut Sesame Chicken”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spicy Maple Peanut Sesame Chicken | FOD-a-licious - September 8, 2013

    […] visiting my dad’s last weekend, my step-mum spotted my original blog on Maple Peanut Sesame Chicken and so I decided to make it again, with a couple of changes. I added the chilli I refrained from […]

Leave a Reply

