Nutella Cookies

3 Sep

20130816-123249.jpg

While JM is off at the gym working on her “legs, bums and tums” I am slaving away cooking her tea! While I’m waiting, I thought I would gives these treats a go – I am sure I don’t need to explain why I was attracted to these do I?! I think I spotted this on Pintrest (which is all too addictive to make me productive at work…) but here’s a link to the original blog

 
20130816-123222.jpgThese totally remind me of the “fork biscuits” (so called because you squash them with a fork once balled to get the unique shape!)
that I found in an ancient Cadbury’s cookbook, (well I say cook book, it wasn’t quite that sophisticated, more of a leaflet to be honest!) that the Mothership had, and I used to insist on baking every weekend. I think she eventually hid the recipe from me…

I’ve intended to add in the UK measurements, as although I have a set of American style cups (bought by my mum so that I could cook her banana bread recipe! Thanks mum) I know lots of people don’t, but typicaly, the battery in my scales have died, so you’ll have to wait for them. Though if you buy a small glass jar of nutella, this works out at about a cup, so you could use this as your base?

 

 

 

Ingredients

20130816-123149.jpg

1/2 cup Nutella – I guess you could use any chocolate spread, but why would you when you can use Nutella?! Oh and if you use these small jars, when you are done, give them a good wash and you have a new glass – again a tip from the Mothership! Perfect size for some juice in the morning (I estimate this to be the amount you are allowed on FODMAP) or a little vino.

1/2 cup natural/wholenut peanut butter

1 tpsp cocoa powder

1 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

 

 

Method

1.Preheat the oven to 180

2.Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and mix well (these all in one, stick everything in a bowl and give it a mix method are by far my favourite!)

3.Get your hands in there and roll the dough into golf ball sized balls and place on a greaseproof paper covered baking sheet, leave a good distance inbetween as they tend to expand!

4.Pop some hot water in a glass (in fact the nutella glass is good for this!) and grab a fork, dip in the water and use the prongs to squash the ball into a more biscuit shape, dip, squash, dip, squash until you have done them all. The water stops the dough from sticking to the fork too much

5.Bake for about 10-12 mins, don’t cook for too long, you want them to be still slightly squishy when they come out. Keep an eye on them though – I didn’t and they have just caught on the edges, still taste great though!

20130816-123230.jpg

6.Try and leave them to cool, though you will probably have to eat one, or two, or…

7.DEVOUR!

20130816-123240.jpg

 

2 Responses to “Nutella Cookies”

  1. Gluten Free Fabulous September 3, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    I’d love to have one of these in the morning with coffee!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Mothership’s Banana Bread | FOD-a-licious - September 13, 2013

    […] time, as I intended to do when making the Nutella Cookies, I have provided the weights of the ingredients as well as the “cup” […]

Leave a Reply

