The Mothership’s Banana Bread

13 Sep

20130913-192039.jpg

On this rather miserable, damp Friday, feeling inspired by the latest series of Great British Bake Off and spotting some rather brown bananas in our fruit bowl, I decided the best way forward this evening was to de-gluten and de-dairy my mum’s banana bread. I also have a huge cupboard full of baking materials which I haven’t made the most of since starting the FODMAP diet – 20130913-192112.jpgSo here goes…

This time, as I intended to do when making the Nutella Cookies, I have provided the weights of the ingredients as well as the “cup” measurements.

Ingredients

20130913-192159.jpg

  • 1/3 cup (80g) Butter/Margerine/dairy free alternative (I used a free-from spread)
  • 2/3 cup (130g) sugar
  • 2 x eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup (150g) flour
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum (I found this in Asda, and was always a little unsure of the difference it would make, but I think it is great and would definitely recommend the purchase of this for any gf baking)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • I cup (I forgot to weigh this, as I go for my mum’s advice which is “approx. 4”)

Method

20130913-192147.jpg

  • Preheat oven to 180
  • Butter and line loaf tin (if you don’t have a loaf tin, it would work in a normal cake tin, but you may have to adjust times slightly). I like to line my tin in a “rustic” manner (read, too lazy to find scissors and cut properly).
  • Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy
  • Beat in the eggs one at a time
  • Add the vanilla essence and give it a mix
  • Add all of the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, xanthan gum, salt) and mix well

20130913-192138.jpg

  • Mash the banana in a separate bowl – you don’t want them to be too finely mashed, as I personally think it’s quite nice to have some bigger chunks of banana in there

20130913-192131.jpg

  • Mix the mashed banana into the other ingredients
  • Pour mixture into the loaf tin and pop in the oven

20130913-192122.jpg

  • Cook for approx. 45 mins in a fan oven/ 1 hour in a non-fan. If you have gone for a different tin, you may have to reduce the time a little

20130913-192053.jpg

  • I checked mine was cooked with a skewer stuck into the middle, one thing to remember – as it has banana in it – it won’t be as dry as a normal cake so if you get a little bit of banana consistency on an otherwise dry skewer it’s probably done.
  • Voila! Leave to cool on a wire rack and enjoy!

As I was making this I decided to sprinkle a little brown sugar on top, to make it a bit “prettier” (which I confess, has not really worked (coarser sugar required!)) but I also thought, some dried bananas on top would look quite nice. Though I didn’t have any of them, so none to see here!

I am so impressed by the amount it has risen (see gluten-free Yorkshire puddings for an example of a semi-rise!) and for the colour – I remember hearing gluten-free foods never brown! There I proved you wrong! (though this, of course, may be down to the flour I used, in that case – thanks Doves Farm!)

20130913-192046.jpg

If I am going to keep up with this blogging/baking thing, I think I may also have to invest in some prettier mixing bowls!

Leave a Reply

