Genius Bread – a revelation

3 Oct

I know, I know, I am VERY late to this particular party, but on Monday I was heading to work and really fancied some proper bread (specifically a bagel) but I was well aware this would be a terrible idea, so I headed to Co-op to see what was available in their little Free From section. It was all the usual, tiny slices of gf bread in a vacuum pack, gf pitta and cakes, that was my choice. Not fancying any of that (surprise surprise) I snuck round to the other side of the shelf full of loaf upon loaf of fresh, gluten-filled bread looking oh so enticing, and then out of the corner of my eye, what did I spot? Only a lonely looking loaf of Genius soft white sandwich loaf.

I was surprised to find it in the “normal” bread section, as since embarking on a gluten-free diet back in February I never venture too near the bakery for fear of overwhelming temptation, leading to me running home with a freshly baked loaf under my arm and devouring the entire thing in a matter of minutes while repeating to myself, “I’ll just have one little slice, I’ll just have one more little slice” until all there is left are a few crumbs and me lying on the sofa complaining about how sore my stomach is!

Anyway back to the bread, my second surprise was the price! £3 for a half size loaf of bread, what is it made from? Gold? Compare this to the surrounding bread, a “normal” loaf of comparative size was a mere 85p, and a Weight Watchers one £1.39.

But since it was the best offering available, I went for it, £3 is a better option than a day in pain at work.

I got to work and headed straight to the toaster. First impressions, the bread actually had a defined crust, with a squashy middle, like actual bread (admittedly not as squishy as normal bread though much better than other gf versions I had tried). The bread did not immediately fall to pieces in my hands… Very unusual. I popped a couple of slices into the toaster, but was unable to wait, I quickly buttered (well, to be precise, soya spreaded) the end crust…

It had that typical gf sweetness, it was soft and had a harder crust, and was the first time I had even considered eating the end crust of some gf bread, and you know what? I liked it! I’d do it again! Then the toast was ready,there was that mouthwatering smell of toast wafting through our tiny work kitchen, people were commenting on how nice it smelt and how good it looked and they weren’t even aware of its gluten-free status!

I was excited! I quickly buttered (soya-spreaded) and marmited and didn’t even make it to my desk before I had eaten the first half! Toast! I think it has been over a year since I have had toast! I’ve been trying to make out that corn cakes with a bit of spread and marmite is the same. IT ISN’T!

This is a diet changer. All those foods that were so out of reach, peanut butter on toast, marmite on toast, cheese toasties, sandwiches! All now back firmly in my sights! It seems that my previously boring breakfast and lunches and diet based on corn cakes and rice is on the road to becoming a bit more “normal”.

Thank you Genius! I am off to invest in a toasted sandwich maker! Cheese and marmite toasties are officially back on the menu! Now if only Branson would develop an onion free pickle…

9 Responses to “Genius Bread – a revelation”

  1. KatyB October 3, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    I miss toast too! Haven’t had Genius for a while, but when it’s good, it’s very good. Only issue I had recently was paying that extortionate price only to find the loaf full of holes (not just tiny holes, huge ones making the slice only good for the bin). In fairness, I complained and Genius were very good about it.

    Also, have you tried Rye? I find that’s better too x

    • SF October 3, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

      Oh, that would be disappointing. My loaf is thankfully hole free! I had a look at their website and their other loaves/rolls look great, so I am going to go for a hunt for some other options at the weekend!

      In my first “wheat-free” attempt I tried Rye, but I found the bread very heavy. Rye’s out on the FODMAP diet. Though now I think about it, I really miss Ryvita, I may attempt a reintroduction… x

  2. KatyB October 3, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    We should make some wheat free loaves!

    • SF October 3, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

      I have some gf bread flour… We could have a go while the roast is cooking sun? The mini Peckham bake off? X

  3. RMdietetics October 3, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    Totally agree the Genius Bread is the best one out there although some of the Warburtons Newburn Bakehouse range are pretty good too. We often found the gluten free breads on discount in a Waitrose near where we live (towards the evening / closing times)

    • SF October 3, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

      Ooh that’s a good tip! I’ll keep an eye out for reduced versions! I’ve only had the Warburtons Newburn Bakehouse subs and found them quite crumbly and falling apart, though they are well priced and last well-I need to try some of the others in the range. I’d almost given up hope on all gf breads! SF

  4. fodmapguy October 4, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

    Just a heads-up – Marmite contains onion. If it’s in such a small quantity that it doesn’t give you any problems though, that’s great!

    • SF October 5, 2013 at 11:05 am #

      What?? Everyday I learn that there is onion in something else!! Thankfully it doesn’t seem to affect me in marmite – phew! Thanks for letting me know! SF

  5. fodmapguy October 7, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    Yeah, onion and garlic seem to be in everything! I contacted Marmite a while back and they said it contains alliums.

    There was an uproar on Twitter recently too when someone found out it wasn’t gluten-free either. Glad it doesn’t seem to affect you though!

Leave a Reply

