SF’s Dad’s Yorkshire Puddings

6 Oct

20131006-213237.jpg

Anyone who has ever visited my dad’s house, or indeed is a friend of his on Facebook, will be well aware of his expertly made Yorkshire puddings, certainly not to be enjoyed with Roast beef, but any kind of roast or, and they are especially good, in toad in the hole, another family favourite, or (when he’s not looking) stolen out of the fridge and eaten cold, my step-mum claims that a bit of jam on a cold Yorkshire pudding is a treat, but I am not convinced!

It’s Sunday so I am currently in the middle of cooking up a FODMAP-friendly Sunday Roast. I had big visions of spending my day attempting to bake bread and cooking a roast for a couple of pals, but following news of a house inspection, the day has been spent cleaning, so now I am onto the roast dinner, though I do intent to attempt a sun-dried tomato and basil foccacia at some point this week… what this space!

Dad’s Yorkshire puddings have a great, almost spongy texture, I used his recipe to make a toad in the hole the other day, and although there wasn’t the rise of a normal gluten-filled Yorkshire pudding, there was the texture, and it tasted amazing so I am hopeful that it will work as well today!

The recipe is a bit different from the one I posted before and you can use it to either make one giant Yorkshire pudding, several smaller ones, or lots of tiny ones or with sausages in a toad in the hole. You can also split the recipe easily depending on pan size. Since there were supposed to be four of us for dinner and JM and I love Yorkshire puddings, I decided to use the whole lot, but would you believe it, two of them bailed.. oh well more for us! No matter the amount of mix you are using, I always add the extra egg white – it really helps with the rise.

Ingredients

  • 8oz plain gluten-free flour
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 3/4 pint of milk (I used soya, but use whatever you prefer – rice, soya, normal)
  • 3 eggs + 1 egg white
  • pinch salt
  • cracked black pepper

20131006-213257.jpg20131006-213249.jpg

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 220 degrees C
  2. Put a splash of oil into the tin/muffin tin you are using and pop in the oven to heat up
  3. Measure out all the ingredients and whisk together – if you have an electric whisk great! If not (like me) a good whisk by hand works just as well
  4. If you have the time, leave to rest for approx. 30 mins giving it an occasional whisk
  5. Give the mixture a good whisk and then pour into the tin – be careful the oil will be very hot, so don’t splash yourself!
  6. Cook for 35 minutes if you are making one big toad in the hole, or 25 for smaller ones.
  7. Serve immediately!

20131006-213319.jpg

7 Responses to “SF’s Dad’s Yorkshire Puddings”

  1. Natty October 8, 2013 at 12:00 am #

    Is that 220 C or F? Also, can you eat gluten? I’ve added gluten to GF flours before – it’s kind of a cheat, you skip the FODMAPs but get the benefits of gluten… it might help with the rising 🙂

    • SF October 8, 2013 at 9:20 am #

      Sorry, C! I can tolerate a bit of gluten, but not much, so I tend to cut it out pretty much all the time. I try and whisk it a lot, sometimes they rise better than others, the good thing I have found with this recipe is even if you don’t get too much of a rise, they are still nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the outside, others I have tried have been a bit like frisbies and rock hard.

  2. Angela October 13, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

    hmmm! made these today, they were great! thanks for your recipes!

    • SF October 13, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

      Great! Glad to hear you enjoyed them! Thanks for letting us know. great to hear that you’ve found it useful! SF X

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 286/365: National Yorkshire Pudding Day | Eat My Words - October 14, 2013

    […] SF’s Dad’s Yorkshire Puddings (fodalicious.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Toad in the hole | FOD-a-licious - October 24, 2013

    […] used 2/3 of my dad’s yorkshire pudding mix (de-glutened of course!) and I decided to experiment a little with it, I initially thought about […]

  3. October 13, is National Yorkshire Pudding Day | VIP Hospitality's Space - October 13, 2015

    […] SF’s Yorkshire Pudding  https://fodalicious.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/sfs-dads-yorkshire-puddings/ […]

Leave a Reply

