Sundried tomato & basil focaccia

14 Oct

20131009-222028.jpg

I accidentally bought gluten free bread flour rather than plain flour a few months ago, since then I’ve always thought about attempting to bake a loaf but having tried so many questionable gf bakes I wasn’t sure it would work…

Anyway I got home early from work last week and thought I’d give it a go. I searched for recipes, I love sundried tomato and/or olive bread so decided to try a sundried tomato and basil focaccia as its one of my faves and I had all the ingredients. I found this recipe but made a couple of changes to make it FODMAP-friendly. I watched Great British Bake off while trying it, and low and behold Becca was cooking a very similar bread on their “alternative grains” challenge.

Previous to attempting to bake it, I had no idea that focaccia was fairly easy, almost knead free and it doesn’t take much rising. Perfect for a novice!

ingredients

  • 7g x fast action dried yeast
  • 1 tsp x caster sugar
  • 200ml x warm milk (I used soya, but you could use rice, normal, other)
  • 250g x gluten free plain flour
  • 1 tsp x xanthan gum
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • ¼ tsp. x bicarbonate of soda
  • 2 tsp. white wine vinegar (this is what was in the recipe, but I didn’t have any so, after a quick google consult I used a bit of white wine, but apparently lemon juice will work just as well)
  • 3 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil, plus extra for drizzling (I used the oil from my sundried tomatoes for the drizzling part)
  • 1 tsp. fine salt
  • small bunch of fresh basil
  • approx 8 sundried tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • Coarse sea salt for sprinkling
  • Ground black pepper

20131009-222106.jpg

Method

  • Grease a 9-inch square cake tin with oil ( I also lined mine with greaseproof paper)
  • Mix the yeast, sugar and a little of  the milk together – it should start to foam a little.
  • Mix together the flour and xanthan gum, add the egg, oil, salt and the rest of the milk and whisk the lot together. At this point my whisk snapped in half, so I used a fork and it was just as effective!
  • Add in the foaming yeast mixture and whisk together until smooth, sticky and fully combined.
  • Add the vinegar (or lemon, or white wine, depending on what you have to hand!) and fizz up the bicarbonate of soda.
  • Fold the fizzing bicarb into the mixture,
  • Then smooth the dough out into your prepared tin  – it’s a good idea to lightly oil a spatula or palate knife to do this.
  • Cover with a sheet of greased cling film and pop in the airing cupboard, or somewhere warm, for an hour to prove.
  • Preheat the oven to 190°C (170°C fan)/375°F(350°F fan)/Gas Mark 5
  • Once the bread has proved – it should be about double in size – take off the cling film and use your fingers to make dips into the dough, I used my sundried tomatoes to do this!
  • Drizzle some oil over the top (I used the oil from the sundried tomatoes, but olive oil is great.
  • Sprinkle some coarse sea salt and pepper over the top and pop in the oven for 30mins or until golden brown.

I’m already looking forward to making my next batch, and will attempt to leave it to rise a little longer! I am thinking rosemary for the next attempt, or olive and sundried tomato… or both.

20131009-222049.jpg

 

One Response to “Sundried tomato & basil focaccia”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. FOD-a-licious supper club-the menu | FOD-a-licious - September 21, 2014

    […] tomato and olive focaccia with fresh basil […]

Leave a Reply

