Tesco finest All Butter Triple Chocolate Cookies…

18 Oct

20131018-112702.jpg

Wow… just… wow. These are incredible, gluten and wheat free and taste like “real” cookies. Well done Tesco. I applaud you!

I was on my way home from the gym last night and popped into Tesco to grab some bits for dinner (Jerky pork and veg with sweet potato mash) it was a tiny little Tesco Express by Queens Road Peckham, once I had found everything for dinner it was about 20.00 and I was starving so was scouring the shelves for something to eat on the way home, and I was utterly failing. I couldn’t even find their Free From section and came very close to buying a chunk of cheese (lactose intolerant, but with a ridiculous love of cheese, the cheese always wins…). But then, out of the corner of my eye I spotted the distinctive ds brand on a tiny shelf so I popped over and my eyes were immediately drawn to some cranberry and white chocolate cookies. I obviously thought someone had mistakenly put them on the wrong shelf, but then, there were lots, and then there are triple chocolate versions? I then spotted the free from branding… Tesco finest does free from?? Well this was news to me! I quickly chucked some of the triple choc ones into my basket and ran to the checkout!

I barely made it out of the shop before ripping open the packet and shoving a cookie in my mouth, the first cookie I took out was snapped in half and my first thought was, “oh no, I am just going to have a box of crumbs”, but then cookie shoved in mouth I realised just how wrong I was…

20131018-112807.jpg

The first thing I realised was that the bottom of the cookie was covered in delicious milk chocolate (Belgian, I discovered when I finally actually looked at the packaging) and they have that perfect crumbly yet soft texture, that is extremely rare in gluten-free cooking. They hold together perfectly (the reason for the breakage was possibly my over-enthusiastic chucking of cookie box into basket!).

20131018-120209.jpg

I shared them with my housemates (one GF the other not) and both agreed that you would never know that they were made without wheat and that they were actually, quite possibly the best cookies we have ever tasted.

If you spot them in tesco’s I would recommend picking up a couple of packs, especially if you live with other people, GF or not, these cookies will not last long!

I am disappointed for two reasons – I only bought one pack, I should have at least bought the white chocolate and cranberry ones for comparison, obviously. And there are now no cookies left…

20131018-112740.jpg

 

3 Responses to “Tesco finest All Butter Triple Chocolate Cookies…”

  1. Natty @ Not From A Packet Mix October 20, 2013 at 4:35 am #

    Are there many suitable supermarket “free from” brands in the UK? My husband and I are planning a UK road trip for 2015 and I’m a little concerned as to how I’ll go finding food from supermarkets that I can eat on the road. I might have to try those!

    • SF October 21, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

      Hey Natty, the supermarket selections are getting better all the time – they all sell free from bread, cakes, chocolate, pasta and their “ready to eat” selections are getting better with Marks and Spencer and Sainsbury’s (at least, the others may have started too, but I have yet to see them) sandwiches. Hopefully by then they will be even better! SF

  2. Ruth November 16, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    Cant find a shop in London that sells them. I want more. They are marvellous.
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

