Jerky Pork and veg with sweet potato mash

6 Nov

This post has been waiting in our draft folder for ages, for no other reason than work/life/holidays have gotten in the way!

To introduce to you one of our favourite (and quickest/easiest) ways to flavour food which is FODMAP friendly. This is to use Dunn’s River’s Jamaican Jerk seasoning (ta da!). It gives a really nice flavour and has no onion or garlic..

20131018-121432.jpg

We use the seasoning on a variety of meats and fish – it gives a great flavour, a bit sweet, a bit salty and a bit spicy, it’s great for livening up what could otherwise be a rather “dull” meal without making it complicated. I have yet to find something it doesn’t work with!

We regularly use it on grilled salmon or chicken, but for a change, last night I decided to double up on the jerk seasoning for dinner. I wanted something quick and easy, as I was fairly late getting in so I just grilled pork chops covered in the jerk seasoning and also made some jerk vegetables, with peppers, courgettes, spring onions, courgettes and cherry tomatoes, a splash of oil and about 2 tsp of dunns river jerk seasoning, making a sort of jerked-ratatouille.

I served this with some mashed sweet potato which I just mashed with a bit of soya spread, salt and pepper.

20131018-121354.jpg

Someone asked me on twitter last week about a suggestion for leftover chicken, and while making my jerked ratatouille I thought it could easily be made into a bigger, more filling meal by adding some shredded meat, or chunks of leftover meat – I’ll have a go at this soon I am sure!

The leftover veg and mashed potato made a great quick and easy lunch for me the following day as well!

Leave a Reply

